January 28, 2023 at the Omni Scottsdale & Spa at Montelucia

O'Connor Prize

The O’Connor Justice Prize was established in 2014 to raise visibility for rule of law initiatives, recognize people who have made extraordinary contributions to advancing rule of law, justice, and human rights, and to honor Justice Sandra Day O’Connor’s legacy.

2023 Honoree

Louis Arbour Headshot

The Honorable Louise Arbour

Retired Justice of the Supreme Court of Canada and Former United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights

The Honorable Louise Arbour, C.C., G.O.Q. was appointed to the Supreme Court of Ontario in 1987 and the Court of Appeal for Ontario in 1990. In 1996, the Security Council of the United Nations appointed Madame Arbour Chief Prosecutor for the International Criminal Tribunals for the former Yugoslavia and Rwanda. In this role, she secured the first conviction for genocide (Rwanda) since the 1948 Genocide Convention and the first indictment for war crimes by a sitting European head of state (Serbian President Slobodan Milosevic).

Read more…

Past Winners

President of the Inter-American Court of Human Rights
Founder and President of Nadia's Initiative
2018 co-recipient of the Nobel Peace Prize
Former President of South Africa
Nobel Laureate
Former Chief Secretary for Administration for the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region
39th President of the United States
Founder of the Carter Center
Member, Council of State of Spain Former Minister of Foreign Affairs of Spain Former Senior Vice President and General Counsel of the World Bank Group